how to finish a really bad book

I’ve just finished reading a badly written book by a suburban white woman. The book itself isn’t even that thick (around 270 pages), yet I still need 3 whole weeks to read the goddamn piece of shit. I know I can just leave the book be and never continue reading it, but I just have to end every book that I’ve started (don’t ask me why.. I just have to). So I am here right now, telling you how to finish reading a book that you despise.

Surprise, surprise.. The tactic that I always use to finish every bad books available is skim-reading. I skim them, from the beginning to the end. The meaning of skim-reading itself is “an act of quick reading to cover up a vast amount of materials“. Basically I summarize in my head, every single paragraphs that I’ve read. In addition to that, I like to use my finger to force my eyes to move faster from one sentence to another. In all honesty, I’m a huge procrastinator when it comes to reading. Nonetheless, skim-reading has helped me terminate a terrible book way more quickly. And there you go, that’s how I finish a really bad book. Easy, isn’t it? It’s just a matter of practice.

Personally, I hate my university major with so much passion; thus, every school textbooks that I read is a goddamn piece of shit. That’s why I always use the tactic of skim-reading whenever I read books about Marketing Management, Macroeconomics, and so on. By reading a bunch of horrible novels, I have trained myself to comprehend those Business textbooks in a short amount of time. It’s not really a thing to be proud of, but when you hate your major… Everything seems better when it’s done more rapidly (for example: graduate early).

Anyway, sometimes you can actually achieve shallow wisdom from reading a badly written book (unless it’s one of those Fifty Shades of Grey and Twilight‘s categories. They are just complete trash). From the first paragraph, I’ve told you about the novel written by suburban white woman, and I do get some legit advice from it. The novel tells me to keep writing despite zero amount of reader, as long as I am being educated. And to be whenever I want to be, pursue whatever fascinates me. You see, it’s such a breeze of fresh air when a white person with a better privilege attempts to give advice. It’s like finally realizing how far I am to my dreams, when compared to this Caucasian. All sarcasms aside, there’s actually a relevant quote from the book — “We all spend our twenties and thirties trying so hard to be perfect, because we are so worried about what people will think of us. Then we get into our forties and fifties, and we finally start to be free, because we decide that we don’t give a damn what anyone thinks of us. But you won’t be completely free until you reach your sixties and seventies, when you finally realize this liberating truth: NOBODY WAS EVER THINKING ABOUT YOU, ANYWAY.”

See? I actually get something from reading (well, skim-reading) the book: never overthink or overanalyze shit. Your “friends” most likely do not care about you. Keep on learning, creating stuff, selling things.. keep on doing the things that you love. Move on when someone criticizes you. Pay no attention to what people think of you because, why should you? As long as you are educating yourself, you are already good to go.

Leave a Reply

