donald glover (childish gambino)

Donald Glover (a.k.a Childish Gambino) might be one of the most multi-talented person living and breathing here on earth — he can rap, sing, act, produce shows, write script, voice a cartoon character, and do stand-up comedy. All in all, Glover is so good in every areas that he has ever worked for, which leads him to snatch all of the awards due to his geniousity. I first found out about Donald Glover in 2016, which was pretty damn late. From then on I was wondering, “Who tf is this dope guy?”. I proceeded to google everything about him; his album, shows, movies, etc — I was lowkey obsessed. That was how I found out about his old TV show called Community, in which he starred as a guy who fails in entering a top-tier university on purpose. Glover left Community in 2014, as he just didn’t feel like doing it anymore. After leaving the show, Glover posted some troubling notes and opened up about his depression. The notes that he wrote went a little bit like this:

“I feel like I’m letting everyone down. I’m afraid people hate who I really am. I’m afraid I hate who I really am. I’m afraid my parents won’t live long enough to see my kids I’m scared [my girl’s] still in love with that dude. I am afraid of the future.”

It’s rare to see performers showing vulnerability on social media, as most people there tend to create a transient, curated, and unreachable reality. Life doesn’t always go or look that way, so Glover should be given credit for his honesty. My favorite music album by Donald Glover will always be Because the Internet (2013). The reason why he created this album is because of his awe upon the internet; how it has connected millions and provided information. Also, the internet has helped him become more and more well-known. Best songs from Gambino are:

  1. Redbone
  2. Sober
  3. sweatpants
  4. 3005
  5. The Palisades!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  6. What kind of love

Image result for because the internet

 

Image result for kauai ep
Kauai (EP)
Image result for gambino albums
Gambino’s latest album

Just days ago, Glover received the Golden Globes awards for his TV Show AtlantaAtlanta is a comedic-series focusing on two struggling black millennials who plunge themselves in the Atlanta rap scene. Glover both produced and starred the first season of the show, and he really succeed on representing the day-to-day struggles of African Americans. According to most people’s opinions, Atlanta is a gift for black people, who are often oppressed by the U.S system. Obviously the show is more relatable to black people; however, Atlanta is both genuinely hilarious and heart-wrenching (I spent the entire New Year’s day watching 10 episodes straight). No wonder it got all of the accolades. When other entertainers showed gratification to their producers/family/casts on their Golden Globe’s thank you speech, Glover actually thanked Migos for creating Bad and Boujee.

Image result for atlanta glover

If you see some of his interviews, Donald Glover presents himself as a chill and down-to-earth individual. He doesn’t show off affluence like gold teeth or chains (not that showing-off is wrong). It’s just that Glover showcases himself as a humble prodigy, showing off his brilliancy only through his art. From his interview with The Breakfast Club (here), Glover told Charlamagne Tha God (the interviewee that I hate) that he refused to be labelled — “Labels like actor, rapper, or singer can be constraining. I don’t want to be called a rapper only, I just want to create as many things as I can“, Glover said. And he did just that. I just find it funny how Glover made up his rapper name, Childish Gambino, from a website called Wu-Tang Name Generator.

 

Leave a Reply

